Announcement ! (Fanfic Evaluation ?)

Okay, Fan Fiction is needed. Why ? Because it’s a content (I need it). I will eventually have to integrate it to my site anyway.

So, I’m thinking of devising a requirement for a fan fiction to be published as a post here. I will send Author role.

The most popular one here is malvazar’s “The Other World’s Physics doesn’t make any sense !”.  And it seems will be continued.

I need suggestions how to evaluate a FanFic.

And also, whether I evaluate it myself, or readers evaluate it, or possibly volunteers ?


Suggestions :

Grammar/ Writing Style, Regular Updates and Character Development
Grammar/ Writing Style:
– Each sentence has a clear purpose.
– Events are “shown” rather than simply “told”.
– Dialogue is prevalent.
– Adjectives aren’t abused.
Regular Updates:
– Writer has a backlog of at least 5 chapters to keep up with updates
– Updates at least once weekly on a specific day at a specific time
Character Development
– Main Character doesn’t start off OP unless author has a clear reason in mind (e.g. Mahouka Koukou no Rettousei uses an OP main character to craft a story around the supporting characters dealing with him being OP)
– Females are more than 34DD’s on legs
– Critical flaws are present in the main characters which will be addressed over time

By ElevenAM

I’d evaluate based on: content – how original is it? Quality – how good is it and how consistent? Finally I would judge based on spelling and grammar which are the least

By thefalconhuntsatmidnight

About ELYSION

Just another young adult that translate stuff for fun and spare time and of course MONEY. Haters Magnet.
This entry was posted in Announcement. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Announcement ! (Fanfic Evaluation ?)

  1. Honestly, I am not fond of fan fiction (aside from the very short comedic ones), so I would recommend that you don’t go through with it. I am sorry, but most fanfics that I have been recommended are horribly cringe worthy.

    Like

  2. saimne says:

    id recommend reviewing adamantine dragon in the crystal world. grammar is a little iffy at the start but it’s mostly cleaned up. still not perfect so it won’t set the bar too high for the first review. The story is really interesting, and it gives an example of telling the story of side character while using an OP protag(tho he is more of an absolute bundle of potential and not yet entirely OP).

    overall i think it would be a good one to start out with. it’s not exactly unknown, but it’s not the most well known out there.

    Like

    • saimne says:

      as for flaws there is a bit missing for that category. main flaws would be arrogance i guess tho…. dude basically ignores anyone and anything that doesnt directly involve him….. though with the backstory for the mc before he reincarnates it’s entirely understandable for him to act like he owns the world XD.

      Like

  3. kmx72 says:

    I just want to ask you a favor.
    Will you please say in the end what will you with this matter

    Like

  4. kmx72 says:

    Though I don t know if you saw my suggestion, this will be lonked to my another suggestion, so instead of that how about you ask for a synopsis , and the first chapter, or first five chapters and if they show promise you put them after evaluating with the people you shared opinion with, another one would be to ask what would the story be about and what do he plans to do with this story I mean, like if he plans to make the character op, something like that, this is something I thought of hope you like one

    Liked by 1 person

  5. kmx72 says:

    You raised the bar to high, maybe just the second suggestion , there s also fanfic that people won t be able to put on weekly, though this may sound offensive, aims an there hasn’t been a chapter of nidoume in about to two weeks ,
    Then just evaluate them you with people who you trust their opinion, this a suggestion.
    Remember that some will not show how they are with just a chapter, and the creators of this fanfic can improve their grammar and spelling with time , well this is just my opinion

    Liked by 1 person

    • Kevin says:

      well isn’t raising the bar what all authors try to do just saying its just some don’t like other people inputs and I want input to only make me write better

      Like

      • kmx72 says:

        Well that is true I mean it’s okay to raise the bars, but the first suggestion practically asks you to write like a writer, well at least that s what I think

        Like

  6. Kevin says:

    was wondering if you accept new fan fic or at least would review well.. new ones I am thinking of writing a few stories well one chapter basis just to see if anyone would like it but I would need a proof reader/editor if interested please e-mail me or contact me

    Like

  7. AdeH. says:

    Just gotta give my opinion^^
    if i was you i think i would just let the people rate it…
    I wouldnt be as strict as some of the other comments suggest…
    Sometimes a great idea is worth much more than grammar, or frequent updates.(in my opinion at least)
    So if people like the mc, the setting and the story, the other stuff mentioned can improve over time.
    So i would just put the ffs you think are ok on something like a suggestion page, where the first like…3-5 chapters of each, and a summary of at least the mc and the general story are shown,so that people can vote which one they would like to see.
    everything with a certain amount of views/likes/ratings gets published…
    Just my opinion, but i think it would also be fine if u decided…^^

    Liked by 2 people

  8. littledev says:

    Ely,
    I honestly think that this bar is set too high for a number of reasons.
    Fan fiction is done by the fans for the fans. You should indeed have a minimum requirement; however, this is something that is innately done for fun. Setting the bar so high as (you must post once a week) or other things is not only meddlesome, and constricting, but it also is rather intimidating.
    You aren’t paying these people, they are generating content for your site.
    Not to mention, most of these people will have a full time job (like me) and even if they don’t youre limiting the amount of content that can go into a post. Instead of a fully-fleshed out and carefully planned chapter, you force them to rush out 10 paragraphs or get booted.Not only that, they have to meet a certain skill level standard all while having virtually 0 grammatical errors?

    Where is the fun in that? Who would do that for free?

    I have my own material but as a artist and creator, I wouldn’t want to subject my work to not only the criticism of my peers, but also the stress and pressure of having it removed from your site for something so ridiculous.

    Instead, I suggest you come up with the rules that you REQUIRE, not WANT.

    Yes, a certain minimum content requirement makes sense.
    Forced weekly updates? No.
    Monthly updates are significantly more feasible and allow for the proper amount of time to plan write a good chapter, full chapter.
    Who are we to say you have to write a certain way and a certain style?

    TL;DR You aren’t paying these people so don’t force them to ridiculous standards.

    Like

  9. lemonade2 says:

    Try reading forgotten conqueror. Its a fanfic and has godly grammar and quite an original story.

    Like

    • ELYSION says:

      Well, there’s no way there can be abundance of “forgotten conqueror” author right? I rather not to put a high requirement at first.

      Like

      • Lord Fyre says:

        Probably too high a bar. It’s been ranked in royalroadl’s weekly top 5 for a while now. Great story though.

        Like

  10. I’d evaluate based on: content – how original is it? Quality – how good is it and how consistent? Finally I would judge based on spelling and grammar which are the least important as an editor can always be found.

    Also btw that dudes novel title seems grammatically incorrect, should be ‘don’t’ rather than ‘doesn’t’.

    Like

  11. ElevenAM says:

    Grammar/ Writing Style, Regular Updates and Character Development
    Grammar/ Writing Style:
    – Each sentence has a clear purpose.
    – Events are “shown” rather than simply “told”.
    – Dialogue is prevalent.
    – Adjectives aren’t abused.

    Regular Updates:
    – Writer has a backlog of at least 5 chapters to keep up with updates
    – Updates at least once weekly on a specific day at a specific time

    Character Development
    – Main Character doesn’t start off OP unless author has a clear reason in mind (e.g. Mahouka Koukou no Rettousei uses an OP main character to craft a story around the supporting characters dealing with him being OP)
    – Females are more than 34DD’s on legs
    – Critical flaws are present in the main characters which will be addressed over time

    Liked by 1 person

    • ELYSION says:

      Wow, you actually put the details down. Do you think I should evaluate it myself, or let readers do it ?

      Like

      • ElevenAM says:

        I’d advise that you create a rubric of some kind that authors need to meet before applying for your attention. After that, I’d say a preliminary look through their material would be good followed by a 2 week period of hosting the work/ getting input from us, the readers. Contact me if you want some help. I’m also working on a web serial for myself.

        Like

  12. hmmm... says:

    How about a combination of quality and their connection to your preferred genres?

    Like

  13. Nix says:

    something like karides’s Ages Online is good

    Like

Comments are closed.